IPL2018 Player retention: Complete list of retained players

IPL 2018

Two-time IPL-winning captain MS Dhoni, Indian captain Virat Kohli and reigning IPL champion Rohit Sharma have all been retained by their respective IPL sides, Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Mumbai Indians ahead of IPL 2018. All eight teams have retained at least one player ahead of IPL Auction 2018.

Chennai Super Kings

It was the tried and tested for CSK as they opted to retain their leading run-getter in Suresh Raina, two-time IPL-winning captain MS Dhoni and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja. With the retention of three Indian internationals, they will not be able to use the RTM card to keep hold of Ravichandran Ashwin. With two overseas slots left, they have a wealth of options to choose from when it comes to using the RTM card.

Delhi Daredevils

One of only four teams to have retained three players, DD opted to retain two youngsters (Iyer, Pant) who are likely to form the core of the team in the years to come. Along with those two, they went with all-rounder Chris Morris ahead of Quinton de Kock.

Kings XI Punjab

As Virender Sehwag admitted a few days ago, Kings XI opted to retain just one player and that was all-rounder Axar Patel, who has been an integral part of their side in the last few years.

Kolkata Knight Riders

Two-time IPL-winning captain Gautam Gambhir was surprisingly not on the list of players retained by Kolkata Knight Riders. They have instead opted to retain two overseas players by going with the West Indian duo of Sunil Narine and Andre Russell. That also means that they will not be able to use the RTM card to get back Chris Lynn.

Mumbai Indians

The three-time IPL champions opted against retaining their loyal legends and have instead looked at building for the future. Captain Rohit Sharma has been retained along with Indian stars Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah.

Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals weren't especially happy with the retention rules but they still opted to retain Australian captain Steve Smith. Of the six players from which they could choose, they chose just one.

Royal Challengers Bangalore

From a galaxy of stars, RCB opted to retain one Indian, one overseas and one uncapped player. While Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers were the internationals who were retained, they also threw a curve ball by retaining Sarfaraz Khan.

Sunrisers Hyderabad

IPL 2016 champions have opted to retain run machine and captain David Warner and the leader of the bowling line-up Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Here is the complete list of retained players ahead of IPL 2018:

Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja

Delhi Daredevils: Shreyas Iyer, Chris Morris, Rishabh Pant

Kings XI Punjab: Axar Patel

Kolkata Knight Riders: Sunil Narine, Andre Russell

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya

Rajasthan Royals: Steven Smith

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan (uncapped)

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Ahead of the 11th edition of the Indian Premier League, each team is slowly starting to take shape. Each of the eight teams have retained at least one player, which is the first step towards the formation of their squad for IPL 2018.

All eyes will shift towards IPL Auction 2018 where the teams will build their squad, which needs to have at least 18 players (maximum 25 with 8 overseas players) and have a salary cap of INR 80 crore. The auction is scheduled to be held in Bengaluru on January 27 and 28.

Source: Sportskeeda

Post a Comment